top of page

Roselia Band Story Episode 02: Why don't we Pair up?

~ Why don't we Pair up? ~

(Yukina locates a talented guitarist "Sayo" and approaches her after the live. However...)

Live house

Yukina: (Only the guitarist is good in this band. The rest of them still have a lot of room for

improvement. The balance is too poor.)

Yukina: (But... that girl... she is able to play that difficult part perfectly. Her skills must be superb.)

Yukina: (That's not the level you can achieve simply by practicing normally. How much does she

practice daily to be able to attain that level of skill?)

Sayo: Thank you very much.

Fan 1: Sayo! You're the BEST!!!

Yukina: Sayo...

Fan 2: Hey, isn't that Yukina? She's really unapproachable up close!

Fan 3: Shhh! She'll hear you. But she's famous for being a little socially awkward after all.

Yukina: ..........

Performer 1: Ah! Yukina-san, thank you for your help the last time!

Yukina: .........

Performer 1: Huh? She's gone. Did she not hear me?

Performer 2: You didn't know? Apparently she "doesn't speak to people not of her skill level". *scoffs*

Performer 1: Eh... What's with that... While it's true that she's amazingly skilled, but saying something

that that is just mean.

Performer 2: She frequently comes by to try to scout people but I doubt she's interested in amateurs like

us.

Yukina: ........

Yukina: (I don't care what others say about me. I just have to do my best to work towards my goals.)

Studio lobby

Sayo's Band member 1: I can't do this anymore! It's impossible! I can't do this with you!

Yukina: ........

Sayo: I'm merely saying the truth. What you are practicing will not yield results. All of your mindsets

are wrong.

Yukina: (Was that the band member of the girl named "Sayo"? It seems like they are quarelling about

something.)

Sayo: No matter how much you try to smoke your way through performances, if you don't work hard to

improve your standards, you will just be easily passed by newer bands!

Sayo's Band member 1: Even if you say so! After you joined us, we have been practicing so much that

we barely have time to even sleep! We are still high school students, you

know?!

Sayo's Band member 2: Hey, Sayo. I understand what you are planning to achieve, but that is not our

goal. We have other things that are more important to us in this band than

skills alone.

Sayo: There is nothing that is more important. If not for my goals, I wouldn't be bothered to gather and

practice with the likes of you.

Sayo's Band member 1: What a horrible thing to say... Before thinking of going pro, we treasure our

friendship more!

Sayo: Friends? If you just want to make some happy memories together, you can get rid of the

instruments, studio and live house. Why don't all of you just be like proper higher school students

and go to karaoke or drop by a family restaurant after classes? That should be more than enough

for people like you.

Yukina: (Her thinking is similar to mine... and we are both high school students.)

Sayo's Band member 1: You're the worst... Fine! Fine, I get it! Then we'll just disband this stupid band!

Sayo's Band member 2: Relax. We are not going to disband. In this band, there's only one person that

has a different opinion from the rest, and that's you, Sayo.

Sayo: That's right. I'll quit so feel free to continue this sorry excuse of a band. I'm sure it will be much

better for both of us this way. Thank you for everything up till now.

Sayo: *sigh*

Sayo: ...! Sorry. I didn't realize you were there.

Yukina: I saw your performance on the stage earlier.

Sayo: I see. For the last song, I messed up and was late for the chord change. I'm sorry for not making

you listen to something so pathetic.

Yukina: Itwas less than a second, and not at a level that you will be held at fault for.

Yukina: (If she considers that a mistake, that means she sets very high standards for herself. In that case,

perhaps, with her I can...)

Yukina: Your name is Sayo, right? I have a suggestion for you. Form a band with me.

Sayo: Huh?

Cafeteria

Rinko: (What's with this cafe? There has been music from the store next door this whole time... Is the

music next door that loud?)

Ako: And then, then, I came to the club with my idea for the dance choreography and Lisa-nee, my

senior, actually approved of it! ..... Are you listening to me? Rinrin?

Rinko: Y-Yes... I'm listening... Um, about this sound.....

Ako: Oh! You realized, Rinrin! Just as planned~ Then, question time! What's next door~?

Rinko: Huh?

Ako: Rinirn, do you know what is a live house?

Studio lobby

Sayo: A band with you? I'm sorry but I don't even know the level of your skills. I'm afraid I can't give

you a reply on the spot.

Sayo: This is my first time with this live house but are you a regular?

Yukina: Yes I am. My name is Minato Yukina, and I'm currently a solo vocalist. I am looking for

members to form a band with me for FUTURE WORLD FES. I'm sure you would have heard of it

before.

Sayo: I've always wanted to participate in FUTURE WORLD FES. too.

Sayo: But even pros have failed in the preliminary rounds for this Fes.

Sayo: I have joined many bands for this purpose, but even if they went for it, their skills thrust them into

despair and they have all eventually given up.

Sayo: (I have always worked myself to the bone in order to avoid being compared to "that person". But

I'm always lacking a good band. I really don't intend to waste any more time on this.)

Sayo: So I need someone who has both skills and determination.

Yukina: If we teamed up, we will definitely make it. If you need to ascertain my skills, then listen to my

live. I'm going up after the next person.

Sayo: Wait. Even if you have the skills necessary, I will not be able to judge your passion for music

from this one simple conversation.

Yukina: Are you saying that I do not put my heart and soul into music, and got to my level just from pure

talent alone?

Yukina: If it is to participate in the Fes, I am willing to cast aside everything. I don't think my feels for

music is any lesser than yours.

Sayo: I understand. However, I will merely be listening.

Yukina: That is more than enough.

 

T/N: I've tried to make Sayo's choice of words a little harsher to show that side of her that's strict towards others as well as herself. I also tried to gear Yukina's words towards those that show her determination more.


Recent Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page