top of page

Pastel*Palettes Band Drama Episode 02: She's a Beauty, as expected


~ She's a Beauty, as expected ~

(It has been a week but the drummer has not been decided yet…

and the plan Chisato comes up with is…?)

Entertainment Agency, Meeting room.

Staff: And that concludes our briefing for the event. Any questions?

Chisato: About the drummer… when will the member be decided?

Staff: It’ll be extremely difficult to have an accurate mimic of the drummer’s movements*, so we are

looking for someone who can actually play. However, we are having some trouble with that…

Staff: But we are trying our best to locate a drummer within the next week.

Staff: Until then, we’ll have someone from our studio cover as a support drummer. Yamato-san, are you

here?!

Maya: Y-Yes! I am Yamato Maya! I’ll be in your care until a drummer is found!

Pastel*Palettes: We’ll be in your care too!

Chisato: I hope we’ll have an official drummer for Pastel * Palettes soon.

Staff: We’ll contact all of you again when we find a drummer. That’s all we have for today. Good work

today!

Pastel*Palettes: Thanks for your hard work!

Chisato: I have another job scheduled after this so I'll be leaving now too. See you around!

Maya: Sorry but I have to leave too. I have a rehearsal after this.

Aya: (I have always wanted to be an idol. I have waited for this moment for 3 whole years, but now

that I have the chance to, I don't really feel that happy... )

Eve: Although we aren't playing instruments, but we are will be forming a band? Why? I... don't understand...!

Hina: Well, although we are doing something that's similar to lying to the audience, I think being able to bring a perfect performance would be better. At least, that's my opinion.

Eve: Perfect...?

Hina: That's right! We have to pull off a performance so perfect that our lie will not be exposed. If it isn't exposed, it'll be considered as the truth... right~?

Eve: Hm... That might be very difficult...

Hina: But since we are doing it, we might as well do our best and pull it off perfectly, okay?

Eve: Transcending your physical limits! I understand! In Bushido, it is important to push yourself past your limits and stretch your potential. The event is also Bushido!

Hina: That's right, it's Bushido! *Laughs* Bushido! That's a good way to put it!

Eve: Yes! I'll do my best!

Aya: Transcending your physical limits...... Hm...

Aya: (Pastel*Palettes is my first, and possibly my last chance. So I definitely can't let this chance slip past my fingers!)

Aya: (Even if that means I won't actually be performing at the live event.)

Hina: And~ Isn't it super interesting that we are called a band although we aren't even performing~? After all isn't enjoyment the most important thing?

Aya: I guess so. We'll have to be optimistic and look at the bright side of things.

Hina: That's right! We just have to pull it off! Waaa... I guess it's time for me to go home too. Then, I'll see you guys around~

Eve: Oh, I'll be going too! Good work today!

Aya: Thank you for your hard work today too!

Aya: Optimistic... and looking at the bright side... Hm.


Entertainment Agency, Hallway.


Hina: Hey! You're... Chisato-chan? I'll be in your care from now on, let's get along!

Chisato: You too.

Hina: I have seen you on TV before, Chisato-chan. I never expected to have a celebrity on this band too.

Chisato: I'm a newbie as an idol, and I'll need to gather more experience and knowledge from now on.

Chisato: Although I still don't understand why I was chosen as a member for this band...

Chisato: But I think it's because there's something here which I can contribute to.

Chisato: For now, I'll like to focus on performing well on all the tasks I have been entrusted with.

Hina: Hmmmmm.....

Chisato: Did I say something wrong?

Hina: I always thought you were unhappy with this arrangement, Chisato-chan, since you're rather famous in Showbiz.

Hina: Well, I'm looking forward to working together with you in the future~ See you! *Leaves*

Chisato: I... am merely choosing the fastest route to success.


1 week later

Entertainment Agency, Lesson Studio

Lesson Coach: And that's all for today! Good work, everyone!

Pastel*Palette: Thank you very much!

Entertainment Agency, Meeting room

Hina: Ahhhh, I'm so tired~! I wasn't expecting a week of continuous rigorous training, even though we aren't actually performing on stage!

Aya: (Ever since the unit was formed, we have been having lessons daily. But maybe because we aren't actually performing so I don't feel that the staff are focusing on us.)

Chisato: Good work, everyone! I'm sorry that I was unable to attend the lesson due to my scheduled job before this.

Aya: (In this week, I feel a distance with Chisato-chan. Maybe because she thinks that there is no meaning to attending lessons, so she hasn't been attending much.)

Aya: Will we be okay...

Eve: Hm, as expected, Maya-san is really knowledgeable about instruments!

Maya: You're embarrassing me! I never expected that there would be someone who would so keen to listen.

Hina: That's not true! Maya-chan's explanations are always so interesting and practical! Especially the one about Voltage*!

Maya: Oh, you really think so? I'm so happy!

Hina: But it's so regrettable that you 're only here till we find an official drummer. You're so much fun!

Eve: Um, have we not found a drummer yet?

Aya: It has already been a week. We can't keep depending on Maya-chan too.

Eve: If we can't find a drummer, would we be unable to perform for the event? Then what would happen to us?

Aya: I'm sure it will be fine! The staff should be diligently searching for one now!

Chisato: ......

Chisato: Maya-san, how long have you been playing the drums to become this good at it?

Maya: Hm, about... 5 years? However, I've only joined this studio recently.

Chisato: So your ambition is to become a musician?

Maya: Well, I'm aiming to become a musician or an engineer.

Chisato: Thank you for answering my questions. And well, could you remove your glasses?

Maya: E-Eh? Um... Uh, o-okay...?

Chisato: I see. As expected, you're really beautiful. Maya-san, would you be willing to join Pastel*Palette?

 

Clarifications:

(1) "It’ll be extremely difficult to have an accurate mimic of the drummer’s movements" -- I meant this as the difficulty for the drummer pretending to be playing the drums when she knows nothing about the instrument as it will be very difficult to synchronize the drumming rhythm and which drum will be hit at the correct moment to match the recording. Hence, the staff thinks that it is more beneficial to get a member who actually is good at drums!


(2) Voltage: This might mean electrical voltage as Maya (revealed to Chisato in this chapter) is an aspiring engineer, so it wouldn't be strange if she's talking about voltage in that context.

 

T/N: Hope that you the translations helped you understand and enjoy Episode 2 of Pastel*Palettes Band story! Stay tuned for Episode 3 :3

 

Recent Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page