top of page

Pastel*Palettes Band Drama Episode 01: An Idol Band that doesn't Perform


Note: These are rough translations. While I try to be as accurate as possible, there might still be some translations that can be phrased better to get the meanings across. If you find across such instances, feel free to let me know! A smaller corner will be added below to explain some terms too, if necessary!


The Band Drama features how Pastel*Palettes is formed!


From Left: Chisato, Maya, Aya, Eve, Hina.


~ An Idol Band that doesn't Perform ~

(Aya just received news that she’ll have a debut as part of an idol band.

How will their first gathering go?)

Entertainment Agency, Office

Aya: (The staff called me for an emergency meeting… but I wonder what’s up?)

Staff A: You'll have to discuss it with us before making such arrangements in the future!

Staff B: Sorry but I'll like to check whether you've made the necessary preparations for tomorrow?

Aya: (The staff here… are always flustered and panicking?)

Chisato: Good morning. Sorry that I’m late, the previous job was…

Aya: Good morning!

Aya: (Is that… Chisato? She doesn’t come to the office frequently. Why is she here today?)

Eve: Good morning! I heard that we’ve a gathering today!

Aya: A gathering?!

Eve: Uhm… I meant a meeting! Are you one of the people here for the meeting too?

Aya: Well, I-I am…

Staff C: We’ll be starting the meeting now, is everyone here?

Staff D: I think there’s still one person who’s not here yet.

Aya: Um… Is everyone present all here for the meeting?

Staff C: Yes.

Hina: Hm? I heard that there was a meeting~ But… Am I mistaken?

Staff: Rather, it’s just that you’re late, Hikawa-san.

Hina: Is that so? So that means everyone else is already present? Then let’s start the meeting without further ado!

Aya: (That girl seems a little weird… If she’s also a part of the meeting, I wonder what it will be

about…?)

Staff: *clears throat* Then once again, Maruyama Aya-san, Shirasagi Chisato-san, Hikawa Hina-san,

Wakamiya Eve-san. I’ve gathered all of you here today because I have something to announce.

Staff: All of you will form and debut as a new idol group called “Pastel*Palettes”.

Aya: Debut as an idol group? Is that true?!

Staff: Of course it is! Aya-san, please put your experience with as a trainee*, to good use.

Aya: Definitely! Thank you very much!

Aya: (I’ve been part of the company for three years. I would haveto stop my training if I couldn’t debut

this year. But finally, I am given this opportunity!)

Eve: Idol? That means we will be singing and dancing? I was a model so I’ve only been standing still

doing photography sessions.

Eve: But idols will definitely be moving around a lot, right? I’m so excited!

Staff: Then, as today is the first face-to-face gathering of “Pastel*Palettes”, please introduce yourself.

We’ll start from Aya-san.

Aya: A-Alright! I am Maruyama Aya! I am a trainee at this company and…

Aya: And… …

Aya: Yes! My dream! I have always dreamt of being an idol so I’m very happy now!

Aya: I’ll definitely do my best! Nice to meet you and let’s all get along!

Eve: My name is Wakamiya Eve! I was a model before this so I don’t really know much about idols.

Eve: But I’ll work hard with a Bushido* mindset!

Aya: B.-Bushido?

Hina: Haha! You’re one interesting person!

Eve: Yes! Thank you very much!

Hina: Hm~? Well, it’s not exactly a compliment~

Chisato: Well, would it be alright for me to go next? I’m Shirasagi Chisato. I’ve been in dramas and

movies since I was a child.

Chisato: So I have experience in Showbiz, but it is my first time working as an idol so please guide me

along.

Hina: I’m the only one left, I suppose. The name’s Hikawa Hina! You can just call me Hina. And… I

guess when I appeared in an audition for a… um, band? I was quite popular?

Hina: But that’s expected since there were many other people in the group that’s good.

Aya: You’ve been in a band audition? But this is an idol unit…?

Hina: Well, I don’t mind either way? I don’t have a specific preference~

Chisato: Could it be that these members are for a back-band?

Hina: Eh? You guys don’t play any instruments?

Eve: Idols… are those who dance and sing, right? Is performing with instruments (concert) also part of

an idol’s job scope?

Staff: Ah… I forgot to mention that all of you will debut as an “Idol Band”.

Aya: Idol…

Chisato: …Band?

Staff: Yes. We have a stage reserved 2 weeks after your first official introduction.

Staff: We will be streaming the performance of professionals instead, so all of you just have to mime

accordingly.

Aya: You mean we will be pretending that we are playing the instruments instead?

Eve: Wouldn’t that mean that we’ll be lying to the audience? That goes against the Bushido’s Code of

conduct!

Aya: Although I don’t have any prior experience with instruments, I agree with Eve-chan’s opinion.

Aya: I think it’ll be better if we practiced properly and put on a real performance for the audience…

Chisato: But playing an instrument well isn’t part of the charm of an idol, right?

Chisato: Instead of wasting time practicing with instruments, wouldn’t it be better to focus on appealing

to the audience?

Chisato: So I agree with the staff’s plan wholeheartedly!

Aya: But that’s…

Staff: As expected of Chisato-san! It’s wonderful that you can connect with our ideas on such a level!

Then we’ll proceed as planned!

Eve: …….

Hina: But unlike them, I can actually play. But oh well, this situation will also be interesting in its own

way~ What instruments will they be playing?

Staff: Hmm… Let’s start with the explanation then. Aya-san, you’ll be in charge of the Vocals.

Aya: M-Me?!

Chisato: …….

Staff: The vocals will also be pre-recorded. I’ll inform you about the schedule of the recording later.

Aya: Okay…

Staff: And now for the rest. Hina-san will be playing the guitar. Chisato-san will be in charge of the

bass, and Eve-san, the keyboard. As for the drums, we are still looking for someone suitable.

Chisato: The bass? I’m not familiar with instruments but it seems like a good instrument that will bring

the band together! I’ll do my best!

Staff: Yes, please do. Then next, I’ll brief you all on the details of the official introduction of the band.

First, please take a look at these documents...

Aya: (I’ll be the vocalist of Pastel*Palette… But is it really okay if I’m not the one performing?)

 

Clarification

(1) Student Intern: In the drama, Aya was called a アイドル研究生 which would be a researcher on Idols. However, the rest of the story suggests her having ties to the company and her being a student. So I thought the most apt description would be an intern. (Edit: Changed to "trainee" instead)

(2) Bushido: Eve likes to mention Bushido a lot. You can think of it like "A warrior's mindset" or "Warrior's code of conduct".

 

T/N: I hope that this short introduction helped you gain some insight into Pastel*Palettes! They are currently my favorite band and my best girl in it is Aya! Who's your best girl?


Updates will be about twice a week (I haven't decided on the days yet) and I currently have Pastel*Palettes at Level 9 O(≧∇≦)O I'll try to juggle between this, unlocking more stories, and schoolwork! If you have other later stories to share for the translations, please leave me a comment below!


Thank you.

 

Recent Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page