top of page

Pastel*Palettes Band Drama Episode 18: Being Myself


Being Myself

(Chisato approaches Aya who is still in shock that she isn’t going to perform in the live.)

Entertainment Agency, lesson studio

Aya: ……

Aya: (Ever since I joined Pastel*Palettes, how many times have I came here… I always made it a point

to come by here at least once per day no matter what I had on…… The place I belong.)

Chisato: You are really here.

Aya: Chisato-chan, why……

Chisato: Because I thought you would definitely be here. You love practicing and working hard, after

all.

Aya: Practicing and working hard…… I was a trainee at a small idol group. For 3 years, I worked

desperately to fulfill my dream of having an idol debut.

Aya: But nothing went well. Just when it was time for me to graduate, I was asked to join

Pastel*Palettes.

Chisato: ……

Aya: I was so happy. My dream finally came true! At that point of time, I thought that hard work

definitely brings success. Seeing my hard work take shape, letting me get one step closer to my

dream, and it fulled my self-confidence.

Aya: I always knew that I didn’t have talent. That’s why I decided to work hard, because I can’t move

forward otherwise. Other than working hard, I don’t know anything else.

Aya: So no matter how many times I messed up, I just didn’t want to give up.

Aya: But…

Aya: I was told that I shouldn’t sing in the live. I thought that if I worked hard, my dream would come

true. I would become an idol. But…… maybe I was wrong.

Aya: Everything that I did up to now… Maybe it was all in vain… Just thinking that makes it hurt so

much…

Chisato: ……

Aya: Chisato-chan, if you were told that you shouldn’t sing in a live after all the effort you put in to

become an idol, can you take it lying down?

Chisato: There are things that you can’t achieve from just hard work alone. So I’ll choose a path that

will definitely bring me success.

Chisato: If the live would become a success because I don’t sing, I might very well take up that offer.

Aya: ……

Chisato: But that only applies to me. It’s simply “Shirasagi Chisato”s opinion.

Chisato: I thought I understood you pretty well, but I think there are still several points that I don’t quite

know well.

Aya: Huh?

Chisato: You said this to me, remember? “I want to work towards being an idol”.

Chisato: The Maruyama Aya I know is someone who foolishly chases after her dreams. Someone who

believes in her efforts and someone who never gives up……

Aya: Being myself……

Chisato: If you wish to make your dreams come true, you can’t wash away your identity as “Maruyama

Aya". So, be “Maruyama Aya” until the end.

Aya: ……!

Chisato: This is all that I have to say to you.

Aya: No matter what happens, I…

Aya: I…

Entertainment Agency, meeting room

Eve: Do you think Aya-san is alright?

Hina: Nn------ I wonder. But I can’t imagine Aya-chan giving up. Aya-chan is who she is because she

never gives up, right?

Maya: Yeah. Besides, Aya-chan is more of an idol than anyone else here.

Eve: What do you mean?

Maya: I never understood what an idol was. I thought that they were supposed to be simply sparkly

and cute, and from a completely different world from myself.

Maya: But what’s being sparkly like? I had no idea what was needed to sparkle. Was it their attire?

Maya: But when I look at Aya-san… And attend lessons with her, I finally understood it. After all,

Aya-san sparkles and shines so brightly.

Eve: Sparkly……

Maya: No matter what happens, she never gives up or changes her dream. She works hard towards

her dreams, and that makes her sparkle.

Maya: At that time I realized that being an idol isn’t about the music or talent.

Maya: It’s more of a lifestyle and a dream that you work towards.

Hina: Lifestyle…?

Maya: It must be the changes to her lifestyle due to her dream that makes Aya-san sparkle. The amount

of time and effort she pours into it…… And that is conveyed to those around her……

Maya: Aya-san is such a splendid idol.

Eve: Maya-san, what you just said is a little too profound. But I agree with your point that Aya-san

sparkles too.

Maya: I know, right? That’s why I think that she’ll definitely be fine.

Hina: Yes… Yes that’s right. If it’s Aya-chan, she’ll definitely be fine!

Hina: Aya-chan will definitely come back with an awesome answer. A sparkling best answer!

 
Recent Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page